Bicycle Diaries

Today I am introducing a new “page” entitled Bicycle Diaries (see the line  right under the photo across the top of the blog). My thanks to David Byrne for this title! In Bicycle Diaries I will be featuring essays and notes of varying lengths–some of them pretty long–in pdf format. They are arranged so that they can be downloaded and stored or printed. This is part of the process of periodic revision of  my blog so that it is easier for readers interested in the cycling entries to focus on these materials.

People often comment on the way I link two interests–religious history and aggressive cycling. I intend to continue this intermingling of the two sides of my electronic journal. My life of the mind and life of the body are so intermingled that they can’t be kept  separate. I hope that you find the essays interesting, occasionally amusing, and always worth reading.

On New Year’s Day WordPress send a summary of how my blog has been doing since I introduced it in April 2010:

“We think you did great!

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. Your blog was viewed about 5,200 times in 2010. That’s about 13 full 747s.

In 2010, you wrote 71 new posts, not bad for the first year! You uploaded 204 pictures, taking up a total of 200mb. That’s about 4 pictures per week.

Your busiest day of the year was July 14th with 110 views. The most popular post that day was An Alternative Way of Worship for Progressive Churches.”

My friends, bicyclists and religionists alike, thank you for traveling with me in 2010. Let’s plan and pray for 2011 that it will be a great new year.

Leave a Reply

